Outback Steak House gluten-free goodness.

My husband won an award from work today for being super awesome. Apparently he was more “urgent” than the other 400+ people nominated for this award for one of the pillars of excellence. There was a lot of corporate chatter attached to the award but it boils down to the fact that he is super duper and got a $50 gift certificate to Outback Steakhouse. I can not tell you the joy this filled my pregnant belly with.

As I have briefly mentioned I have recently been diagnosed with a “gluten intolerance” and have yet to be determined if I actually have Celiac or not. My blood tests came back positive but the procedure involved to confirm diagnosis is one I would like to avoid as long as possible. I do know that if I avoid gluten I don’t feel like crap. My indigestion is much more manageable, I have more energy and am more emotionally stable. Ask Mike he agrees that I am “less crazy” than I was. We will call that progress.

This gluten issue is usually manageable as long as we don’t go out to eat. When we do it is a big game of Russian Roulette as to weather or not the meal is actually gluten free or not. For example, although Pho (the soup of the gods) is gluten free and no flour is added to the meat or broth, made with rice noodles, if you add the brown prune sauce to your soup (which adds a delicious sweet flavor) you have just caused your self a world of pain. The sauce has wheat flour in it. Gladly siriacha sauce does not.

Anyway, most restaurants that we frequent(ed) do not have a gluten free menu and you are at the mercy of the chef or waiters to know what the hell gluten free really means.

I heard rumor of a gluten-free menu at Outback from Jared at http://paleogeek.wordpress.com and was very excited to check it out.

When we got to Outback I asked for the gluten-free menu and there was a printed menu! It is also available online.  It told you what dressings were gluten-free (all but the blue cheese and honey mustard) and to ask for no croutons. It mentioned the seasoning they use for veggies is not GF and to ask for them without it. It had a list of GF alcoholic beverages that I plan on working through once I am no longer supporting a life with my own body. There were a lot of great choices but we were at Outback and I wanted steak!

Thankfully the steak seasoning they use is GF and the steak, as always, was very tasty. We also got the GF brownie with ice cream. I believe it was called the Chocolate Thunder From Down Under. It was very soft, chocolatey and nutty. Insert inappropriate dirty joke here.

I can say I did not want for more. It was perfect in every way. I also did not leave feeling slow, bloated and blegh. I feel pleasingly full, but not overly, with energy to spare. I even switched the laundry. I will call that an accomplishment.

Where do you like to eat GF? Are there other good places that make it easy to choose with GF menus that I do not know about? Please share!

One response to “Outback Steak House gluten-free goodness.

  1. Pingback: SNAP Challenge Week 1 | Natural Living Mamma

Leave a Reply

