Why I blog

There is so much information out there for those who know to look. Those who question common knowledge, who know that the truth is out there (not just about extra terrestrials, but like… you know… corporations poisoning us and stuff) and have all sorts of great tips and ideas they can share to help benefit all of man kind! If only we would know where to look.

Ok so that is a bit of a reach, all of man kind really, I would be happy if I can just benefit some of mommy kind, maybe daddy kind, perhaps just greenie kind.

A long time ago, in a far away galaxy (or state), I had a lot of problems. After much trial and error with a lot of doctors with varying levels of competency and usefulness, I discovered that I had PCOS, endometriosis, a prolapsed uterus, and there was a fat chance in hell that I would ever get pregnant without the assistance of said useless doctors. Their great advice was to lose weight… thanks docs… not that I have not been trying for years or anything… no matter how much I exercise or how well I ate I just did not lose weight and did not know why! I had a bad back at this point which was pretty pissed by all the weight I gained too so that didn’t help much.

After the one of the many doctors suggested medical weight loss (starve your body and fool it into loosing all the weight it can quickly and completely starving your body for the nutrients it is so obviously lacking in the first place) I decided to do some research. Back to that information at the tip of your fingers. Now here is something I have learned after years and years of researching stuff: there are a lot of quacks out there, and a lot of remedies for the same problem. Something that works for one person will not always, or even usually, work for another. Our bodies are all different and react differently to varying factors.

Long story short I found eating all organic meat and mostly organic produce (at least the “dirty dozen”  http://www.eatingwell.com/food_news_origins/organic_natural/12_foods_you_should_buy_organic)

and I started loosing weight. Do your own research and tell me why. It’s actually very interesting the effects pesticides and artificial hormones in our food really does effect our bodies. As soon as I lost about 20 lbs I got pregnant! OOPS! We were NOT planning on this at all but I can’t tell you how happy I am that it happened. I have the most beautiful, smart, curious, squirmy and adorable little girl ever. (She is at this very instant trying to delete this whole article because I am not paying explicit attention to her.)

So I did what any other nerd would do, research. I explored what to eat while pregnant, parenting styles, tips, I learned what I could about baby care, cloth diapering, what is in baby products, clothes, food, diapers, whatever I could get my hands on! My mind was a bottomless hole soaking in every piece of information I could. Filtering out all the crazy information with what would actually work for us. I learned what herbs are used to treat different problems. I learned what chemicals are the most important to avoid. I learned!

So I know there are people out there who are too busy to do the research, or don’t know where to start. They don’t know the local haunts that are there for support, or the natural lines of products they have access to. They don’t know they can be green within a budget. They don’t know! I didn’t know.

So I decided to share my knowledge and insights and hopefully spark a thought in you, so that you can then go and do your own research, reach your own conclusions and hopefully share some of your knowledge and insights with me.

And that is why I blog.

Check out why some of my other mamma friends blog:

Katt : http://augustreverie.com/main/why-i-blog/964/

Molly Yanz : https://mommyyanz.wordpress.com/2011/06/20/why-do-i-blog/

Heather Wikle Gonzales : http://fearfultofearless.blogspot.com/2011/06/blogging-with-kids.html

Megan Gallt : http://perfectlittlelove.tumblr.com/post/6793626021

Caitlin : http://caitlin-lane.blogspot.com/2011/06/why-i-blog-what-about-you.html

Xandy : http://xoxostar.com/?p=2518

Angelahttp://stifterfamilystories.blogspot.com/2011/06/why-i-started-blogging.html

Leave a Reply

